Missouri Military Academy

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

2019 Wallace Fry, Jr. Speech Contest Winners

Congratulations to the 2019 Wallace Fry, Jr. Speech Contest Winners!
Dominic Desiderio ’23, Joy McGeorge Middle School Oratory Award. Presented to the middle school cadet whose speech is judged to be the best on the basis of charismatic and knowledgeable oratory skill.

Sky Thunderchild ’19, Winston Churchill Memorial Award. Presented to the cadet who speaks most persuasively on behalf of a just cause.

Rene Garcia-Garza ’22, W. Wallace Fry Cup for Excellence in Speaking. Presented to the cadet whose speech is judged to be the best on the basis of delivery, content and depth of thought.
All cadets participate in the annual Wallace Fry, Jr. Public Speaking Competition by preparing speeches which utilize rhetorical devices taught during English Language Arts lessons. Congratulations to those cadets who were selected via peer assessment and teacher recommendation to participate in the final contest:
Middle School Speakers
Charles Davidson ’23
Dominic Desiderio ’23
Gorka-Aitor Yarte-Zertuche ’23
High School Speakers
Rene Garcia-Garza ’22
Shama Lurie ’19
Michael Naughton ’20
Sky Thunderchild ’19
Thank you to our 2019 judges for the contest:
Mr. Scott Zimmerman, Triumph Program Coordinator, William Woods University
Mr. Gregg Center ’91. former Wallace Fry Speech Contest runner-up
Ms. Penny Daugherty, co-owner of KXEO radio station